UPDATE: Now Cancelled. New Prince EP 'Deliverance' in dispute

UPDATE: The release of the ‘Deliverance’ EP has now been legally blocked and will therefore no longer (for the time being at least) be released. All links and downloads have been removed.

A contentious new Prince EP has been made available in honour of the one year anniversary of his passing.

Rogue Music Alliance has released Deliverance, an EP featuring six previously unreleased Prince songs recorded between 2006 and 2008 when he was an independent artist. Prince co-wrote and co-produced the songs with Ian Boxill, who finished them after his death and says, “Prince once told me that he would go to bed every night thinking of ways to bypass major labels and get his music directly to the public. When considering how to release this important work, we decided to go independent because that’s what Prince would have wanted.”



However, since the announcement Prince’s estate has taken action to challenge control of the recordings, filling a federal lawsuit against sound engineer George Ian Boxill.

The lawsuit estimates the value of the recordings at more than $75,000. According to St Paul’s KSTP, the lawsuit accuses Boxill of refusing to return the tracks in violation of a contract he made with the late artist.

The estate and Paisley Park also requested “any and all masters, copies and reproductions” be returned.

According to a press release, “the majority of all sales of Deliverance will benefit Prince’s estate.”

EP tracklist:

1. Deliverance
2. I Am
3. Touch Me
4. Sunrise Sunset
5. No One Else
6. I Am (Extended)

4 months ago